Skip to main content
AcademicsAlumni NewsCFWE NewsDevelopmentStudent News

CFWE honors faculty, staff and students during Spring 2024 awards celebration

The College of Forestry, Wildlife and Environment at Auburn University recently held its 2024 Award Celebration on April 17.  During the event, the CFWE proudly recognized high-achieving students for their academic excellence, leadership skills, and service. 

2024 student award recipients included:


The President’s Award & Graduation Marshal – Rory Smith


Annual Academic Improvement Award in Forestry: Bradley Gibson

Alabama Wildlife Federation David K. Nelson Game Management Award: Reese Stogner

Alabama Wildlife Federation Robert G. Wehle Non-Game Management Award: Ally Cobern

Geospatial and Environmental Informatics Student of the Year: Rory Smith

Natural Resources Management Student of the Year: Jaquie Parker

Sustainable Biomaterials and Packaging Student of the Year: Emmie Mayson

Weyerhaeuser Forest Economics Award: Mays McMillan

Wildlife Enterprise Management Student of the Year: Dallas McCain

William Allen Carey Memorial Award in Forest Pathology: Clari Gregson

Harry Murphy Graduate Student: Marnisha Parajuli

2024 Undergraduate Research Fellows: Shelby Davis, Tess Lindow, Gigi Sharp, Emily Tice, Brianna Travis, Lexi McGrew


Armistead and Woody Family Military Service Award: Eric Eisenhardt

The Wildlife Society Student Leadership Award: Lauren Stevens

Alabama Division of the Society of American Foresters Junior Leadership Award: Thomas Davis

Alabama Forest Owners Association Award: Sam Hall and Erin Colhoun

Association of Consulting Foresters Senior Leadership Award: Eric Eisenhardt

F&W Forestry Services Rising Senior Award: Thomas Davis

The Forestry Club Most Outstanding Student Member Award: Rice Nichols

Southeastern Society of American Foresters and Alabama Division Leadership
Travel Award: Erin Colhoun

Outstanding Wildlife Member of the Year: Aiden Calderon-Wyant

Dean Alavalapati expressed the collective pride of the faculty and staff, stating, “We are incredibly proud of our students’ dedication to their studies and their cultivation of leadership skills for their future careers in natural resources, wildlife, and forestry.”


The outstanding work of numerous CFWE faculty and staff was also recognized and included:

Harold E. Christen Award for Service to Teaching: Dr. Chris Anderson

Harry Murphy Faculty Outreach Award: Dr. Wes Anderson

Harry Murphy Outstanding Staff Award: Carolina Miller

Harry Murphy Faculty Research Award: Dr. Steve Ditchkoff

Graduate Student Mentorship Award: Dr. Heather Alexander

Best Publication Award: Dr. Chris Lepczyk

Outstanding Forestry Faculty: Dr. Tom Gallager

Outstanding Wildlife Faculty: Dr. Mark Smith


The College of Forestry, Wildlife and Environment also honored Dr. Nancy Loewenstein ’82, who received the 2024 Outstanding Alumni Award in honor of her lifetime contributions to her field and service within the Auburn community and beyond.

View photos of the 2024 Awards Celebration online at



Related Links

Recent News

April 30, 2024

Auburn CFWE graduate student sets world record for hugging the most trees in one hour

April 24, 2024

Rory Grace Smith serving as student marshal for spring 2024 commencement

April 15, 2024

Auburn researcher develops app to combat rabies

Leave a Reply

Close Menu